Nuts About Squares CAL

Hello, and welcome to Spring! Before you start, you should play this song while you read my blog. Let’s make this an interactive experience! 🙂

I am currently creating my first original blanket, but I also found myself starting a second project. It is a CAL (Crochet-Along.): the Nuts About Squares CAL.  This post has hyperlinks all over the place to give proper credit to the designers.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For this CAL project, the leader, Esther, releases a new square each week, along with video tutorials and written instructions on how to put together each square. The patterns are all made by different designers, and Esther brought them all together in one blanket.  ****I received a question about the photos on this blog. To clarify, I did not design the patterns, but everything you see pictured I have crocheted myself using other designers’ patterns. **********

In this blog post, I want to show you photos of my progress, as well as some pictures of the beautiful things around here that bring me sunshine, love and joy.

OriginalPhoto-514413282.833763
That is one happy cat!
IMG_0173
Osteospermum. A new flower I planted.
IMG_0160
No editing needed! The first osteospermum is doing so well, I planted a copper-amethyst version!  It is also called African daisy.

Next up: two tiny things I want to show you.

HipstamaticPhoto-513895078.366698
The middle of a Spiro star on top of Polly Plum’s Lotus Moon blanket, my first project.
IMG_0104
We also planted this Lobularia. I could fit five of these tiny flowers on one fingernail!

You have already seen  some photos of my progress with the challenging and exquisite Esme’s Winter Cottage square by Dedri Uys in my Story of a Square blog post.  The second week’s square is called Spiro Star by Helen Shrimpton.

OriginalPhoto-513897153.648664
A Spiro middle happily nestled amongst the violets.
OriginalPhoto-514473334.046585
Spiro Star by Helen Shrimpton. I am not torturing my square. This process is called “blocking.”

The third week’s square is called Denna square, and is designed by the wonderful Polly Plum.  You have seen her work before on this page, including the Lotus Moon blanket, the Harry square, and this Blizzard Warning snowflake!

Don’t you just love the tiny cross in the middle of this square? (See top left.)

The next few pictures are for my fiancee, Ray. He does not want his picture on the internet, but he is a huge part of my life, so here are some little things for him.

IMG_4087
My second amigurumi. I asked Ray what he wanted me to make for him.  He said, “A sperm whale.”
OriginalPhoto-514473294.213536
I love pickles, and Ray loves cooking. Here are some jalapenos he is pickling for us. I just asked him to make the next challenge: pickled cabbage!

Lastly, here are two more photos I made playing around with Hipstamatic.  The first one is the middle of a Spiro star hanging above a running rabbit. It is an homage to the beginning of the 1979 Watership Down film animation of the great Frith.  OriginalPhoto-513898026.687007

This second picture is a psychedelic Hipstamatic picture I took of the little things on my desk. It looks like a pretty cool world to live in! OriginalPhoto-514652617.244666 Until we meet again, I hope you have a happy, healthy day!

 

Leave a Reply

