The Story of a Square

I apologize for my absence. Work, (that pesky dayjob,) has recently dominated my life. However, I have not forgotten about my crocheting! I have been working on three projects since we last spoke.  Two of them I will describe in a later post.  Today, I want to show you the story of THE most COMPLICATED square I have made yet.  It is the Esme’s Winter Cottage Square (made by Dedri Uys at www.lookatwhatimade.net) from Week One of a “Crochet-along” that I decided to start. It is the Nuts About Squares CAL. Each week, you make three squares with a different combination of your six color selection.  I am two weeks behind, but I am hoping that the next two weeks aren’t quite so complicated.  It took me several tries, and multiple unwound rounds to complete this square.  I took pictures along the way to assist myself, but crocheters might be interested to see some of the unusual stitches in this square and the way that bizarre chaos of stitches in the beginning rounds eventually comes together into a pattern. (I listed my color scheme at the end of this blog post.)  For the pattern, please visit Dedri’s page at www.lookatwhatimade.net.

The round below calls for a fun stitch. I think I just like its name. It’s the bobble stitch.IMG_0019

In the next round, we make one of my favorite stitches, which is called the Puff Stitch.  This stitch involves yarning over and pulling through a lot of loops, creating a little puff.

IMG_0028

In the next few rounds, there are a few front post and back post stitches involved. These are stitches in which you insert your hook AROUND the post of the stitch, entering from the front or back, rather than inserting your hook INTO the stitch, which is a normal way to stitch your yarn through.

IMG_0029IMG_0036

So how do you make the purple square in the middle here look “raised?” When you attach the dark green yarn onto the purple square, you stitch into the “back loops only.”  By not stitching into the front loops, you are not covering up the purple yarn, (since you are essentially attaching the green yarn to the BACK ONLY of the purple square.) This gives it a raised 3D effect.

IMG_0038

 

How about some diamonds? I’ve never crocheted diamonds before!

This part was so difficult that I created a video for myself by propping my iPod on a jar of peanut butter. I decided to post it because it shows the way that I talk myself through a pattern, and the logic and order I have to make out of the counting in order to complete it accurately.  As I originally made this video for my own private use, please excuse my poor grammar. I kept saying, “There’s two stitches” instead of “There’re two stitches.”

 

Next, you finish the tops of the diamonds.

After your diamonds are completed, it is pretty much smooth sailing from there on.

One square done, two more Esme squares to go. Then I move on to Week Two, (Spiro Star squares,) and Week Three, (Denna squares, made by my crochet mentor, who inspired me to start this crochet obsession, Ms. Polly Plum.)  I hope you enjoyed this journey through a very challenging “granny square.”  This is the modern great-great grandchild of the granny square haha.

As promised, my color scheme.

1-King’s Canyon (Heartland yarn) (dark green)   2-Dusty Blue (Vanna’s Choice yarn)

3-Victorian Rose (Loops and Threads Color Wheel yarn) 4-Dusty Purple (Vanna’s Choice)

5-Woodland Heather (Vanna’s Choice)  (light green)   6-Linen (Vanna’s Choice)

One thought on “The Story of a Square

Leave a Reply

